Square dance shirt

I’ve been venturing into making my own clothes, now that I have a sewing machine that’s not terrible. This was my second effort – a self drafted trapeze too with a fun yoke. 

I’ve been working with a stash of quilting fabrics that a friend gave me, mostly purchased in the 80s and 90s. I’m having a lot of fun finding fabrics that will work for clothes. I loved this country plaid but knew I couldn’t get a whole shirt out of it, hence the yoke. The yoke used up the last scraps of my trapeze dress. 

You can’t see it here, but the yoke is lined with polka dot fabric. I love when the inside of clothes are just as pretty! Makes getting dressed just a little bit fancier.

Leave a Reply

